Skip to content

2020 New York State Residential Code

Product Code/ISBN: 3100S20NY

The 2020 Residential Code of New York State® (RCNYS®) establishes minimum requirements for one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses using prescriptive provisions. This 2020 edition was developed as a derivative work of the 2018 edition of the International Residential Code® (IRC®) published by the International Code Council®).

It is founded on broad-based principles that make possible the use of new materials and new building designs.

The RCNYS was created to serve as a complete, comprehensive code regulating the construction of single-family houses, two-family houses (duplexes) and buildings consisting of three or more townhouse units. All buildings within the scope of the RCNYS are limited to three stories above grade plane. For example, a four-story single-family house would fall within the scope of the Building Code of New York State® (BCNYS®), not the RCNYS. The benefits of devoting a separate code to residential construction include the fact that the user need not navigate through a multitude of code provisions that do not apply to residential construction in order to locate that which is applicable. A separate code also allows for residential and nonresidential code provisions to be distinct and tailored to the structures that fall within the appropriate code’s scopes. The RCNYS contains coverage for all components of a house or townhouse, including structural components, fireplaces and chimneys, thermal insulation, mechanical systems, fuel gas systems, plumbing systems and electrical systems.

The RCNYS is unique in that much of it, including Chapters 3 through 9 and Chapters 34 through 43, is presented in an ordered format that is consistent with the normal progression of construction, starting with the design phase and continuing through the final trim-out phase. This is consistent with the “cookbook” philosophy of the RCNYS. The RCNYS is divided into eight main parts, specifically: 

  1. Part I—Administration; 
  2. Part II—Definitions; 
  3. Part III—Building Planning and Construction; 
  4. Part IV—Energy Conservation; 
  5. Part V—Mechanical; 
  6. Part VI—Fuel Gas; 
  7. Part VII—Plumbing; 
  8. Part VIII—Electrical.